Customer Journey

The way to transactions -
and why "pull" isn`t everything

Last Cookie wins

Critical for an efficient online marketing strategy is the optimal combination and interaction of various online marketing tools. With the common 'last- cookie- wins' principle, the majority of ecommerce advertisers sales success is attributed to recent media exposure.

This form of tracking, however, ignores the influence of upstream customer touch points and more importantly, the initial sales process, which significantly affects the sales success.

transaktion

In the majority of cases search engines are used towards the end of a „customer journey“ when the customer already knows what he wants he would like to complete his transaction as soon as a brand name or product has been entered. The conversion time usually takes only a few minutes.

Anyone who exclusively responds to this demand capacity (Pull) is very limited in utilizing the online sales potential.

It is crucial to use a combination of various instruments such as display media, product search, newsletter, social media, etc. to achieve the best possible output.

Only an analysis of all advertising contacts forces acting upon the transaction and reveals how one can obtain the best possible sales from a budget.

When you take a closer look at the benefits in affiliate marketing you will notice that display media is used very sparingly. Most associates are committed to placing the 'last cookie' to search-related services to claim the following sales for themselves. The result being affiliate activity, whose profit value for an advertiser needs to be seriously questioned.

Most affiliates focus on pull marketing strategies and derive better profits, yet are not motivated to utilize push instruments such as display media to establish new demand potential.

Commission Split

A professional customer journey tracking system records the proportionate participation of a consumer transaction and helps to allocate the sales success according to the actual cause of a sale.

This is of particular importance for commission-based collaborations with affiliates, which until now had been done through large affiliate networks, which are not performance based.
In fact, such associate benefits are paid into other types of benefits or they benefit from other instruments such as SEM activities or display campaigns.

Postclick vs. Postview

Due to its push character, display marketing is all too often placed at the beginning of the customer journey and usually remains unnoticed with the 'last cookie wins' concept, thus only a fraction of the actual performance is compensated.

In addition, many advertisers apply the rule that only post-click-based sales are compensated and that the click is a necessary prerequisite for a sale attribution and the sale tracking.
This implies that the mere sight of a banner has no relevant influence on the purchasing behavior of the user. Thus, one could question the entire advertising industry!

postview

Various international studies, to include Comscore, show the effect of the promotional banner view contacts without prior clicking. Particularly because of its push character, the click on display media, although a relevant benchmark for assessing the significance of an advertising environment or the response effect of an banner design, it should not be the basis for the sales attributes.

EXAMPLE:
Mobile device users viewing a Vodafone banner advertised on the Internet several times a week that do not click, supposedly is due to the fact that the user is not picked up at the right time. Still a relevant part of the users perceive the advertisement and respond on subsequent visits or type directly in the search engine to return to the advertisement.

Very often general brand awareness leads the customer back to the Advertiser, either by using the brand name of the company or directly visiting to the shop. This leaves associate benefits unsettled, which dampens the level of affiliate activity for providing further services initialized by demand display media.

The first attempt to consider the view-to-sale effects were made 2007 by KUPONA and strongly promoted on the German market. The use of so-called view cookies were already placed with the appearance of a banner. The cookie tracking settings were set to low priority for advertisers so that in the presence of cookies, the view cookie does not override the click cookie. This avoids a cannibalization of click cookies by view cookies and similar types of activities which generate a click when the sales attribute has priority.

postview

Since then display media affiliates on CPO basis have the chance to work profitably. However, this model only takes into account those sales on the customer journey where there is no click. Once one of the touch points gets a click, the associate loses his entitlement to compensation, despite the multiple display views in advance.

CONCLUSION
A professional customer journey tracking system provides fair solutions for source-related compensation on a pro rata participation on sales.

In this case, a display media associate is proportionately rewarded for his view contacts through the customer journey, which leads to a balanced partnership dedication. This means even push instruments, which have an important growth feature for ecommerce advertisers, being CPO-oriented, would be used more often and lead to a real win-win relationship between advertisers and associates. The associate participates in performance-related sales achieved and the advertiser can increase sales.

Hendrik Seifert
Managing Director
Hendrik Seifert
KUPONA GmbH
Kothenbachweg 6
36041 Fulda - Germany

Fax +49 (0) 661 / 480 275 – 69

+49 (0) 661/ 480 275 – 19

Customer Journey

Der Weg zur Transaktion -
und warum "Pull" nicht alles ist

Last Cookie wins

Entscheidend für ein effizientes Online Marketing ist das Zusammenspiel und die optimale Kombination verschiedener Online Marketing Instrumente. Durch das gängige „last cookie wins“-Prinzip wird jedoch bis heute bei den meisten eCommerce Advertisern der Verkaufserfolg auf den jeweils letzten Werbemittelkontakt zurückgeführt.

Diese Trackingform ignoriert jedoch den Einfluss vorgelagerter und wichtiger, den Verkaufsprozess maßgeblich initialisierender Customer Touch Points, welche sich nicht unwesentlich auf den Verkaufserfolg auswirken.

transaktion

In den meisten Fällen stehen die Suchmaschinen am Ende einer „Customer Journey“, wenn der Kunde bereits weiß, was er will und nach Eingabe eines Brand- oder Produktnamens seine Transaktion abschließen möchte. Die Conversion-Time beträgt dann in der Regel nur noch wenige Minuten.

Wer sich ausschließlich auf diese Nachfragekapazität (Pull) verlässt, nutzt das Online-Absatzpotential nur sehr begrenzt.

Erst durch die zusätzliche sinnvolle Kombination verschiedener Instrumente wie Display, Social Media, Produktsuche und E-Mail/ Newsletter kann dieses Potenzial optimal ausgeschöpft werden. Entsprechend ihrem Einfluss, sollten diese Maßnahmen abschließend bewertet und vergütet werden.

Erst eine Analyse aller zur Transaktion führenden Werbekontakte bringt Aufschluss darüber, wie man ein vorhandenes Budget am erfolgreichsten einsetzt.

Bei genauerer Betrachtung der Leistungen im Affiliate Marketing fällt auf, dass Display nur sehr eingeschränkt eingesetzt wird. Die Vielzahl der Partner ist bemüht, den „last cookie“ im Rahmen von Search-Maßnahmen zu setzen, um den folgenden Sale für sich zu beanspruchen. Die Folge sind Affiliate-Aktivitäten, deren Wertgewinn für einen Advertiser ernsthaft in Frage gestellt werden müssen.

Die meisten Affiliates fokussieren sich auf Pull-Marketing und „schöpfen eher ab“, sind jedoch nicht motiviert, über Push-Instrumente wie Display neue Nachfragepotenziale zu initialisieren.

Commission Split

Ein professionelles Customer Journey-Tracking, bei welchem die anteiligen Mitwirkungsleistungen an einer Transaktion erfasst werden hilft, die Verkaufserfolge verursachungsgerechter zuzuordnen.

Von besonderer Bedeutung ist dies bei der provisionsbasierten Zusammenarbeit mit Affiliates, denen bislang über die großen Affiliate Netwerke „nur“ ganze Provisionen und somit Sales zugeordnet werden. Tatsächlich zahlen solche Partnerleistungen jedoch zum einen auf andere Leistungsarten ein oder profitieren von anderen Instrumenten wie den SEM Aktivitäten oder der Displaykampagne.

Postclick vs. Postview

Aufgrund seines Push-Charakters steht Display Marketing nur allzu häufig im vorderen Teil der Customer Journey und bleibt mit „last cookie wins“ sehr häufig unberücksichtigt bzw. es wird nur ein Bruchteil der tatsächlichen Leistung vergütet.

Darüber hinaus gilt bei vielen Advertisern bis heute die Regel, dass nur Postclick basiert vergütet wird und der Klick als zwingende Voraussetzung für das Sales-Tracking bzw. die Sales-Attribution gegeben sein muss. Dies unterstellt, dass allein durch den Sichtkontakt eines Banners keine kaufverhaltensrelevante Beeinflussung des Users stattfindet. Damit könnte man auch die gesamte Werbeindustrie in Frage stellen!

postview

Verschiedene internationale Studien (u.a. der Comscore) belegen die verkaufsfördernde Wirkung von Bannersichtkontakten auch ohne Klick. Insbesondere wegen seines Pushcharakters ist der Klick bei Display Media zwar eine relevante Orientierungsgröße zur Bewertung der Relevanz eines Werbeumfelds oder der Responsewirkung einer Bannergestaltung, jedoch darf er nicht Grundlage für die Sales-Attribution sein.

BEISPIEL:
Sieht ein User im Internet beispielsweise mehrfach pro Woche einen Vodafone-Banner mit einem beworbenen Mobilfunkgerät, klickt jedoch nicht darauf, dann ist dies darauf zurückzuführen, dass der User nicht zum richtigen Zeitpunkt abgeholt wird. Dennoch nimmt ein relevanter Teil der User die Werbung wahr und reagiert durch spätere „direct type in“-Besuche oder kommt über die Suchmaschine zum Angebot zurück.

Sehr häufig führt der Advertiser solche Besuche, die über den Markennamen des Unternehmens oder die Direktbesuche im Shop erfolgen, lediglich auf die allgemeine Markenbekanntheit zurück. Somit bleiben Partnerleistungen unvergütet, was den Aktivitätsgrad von Affiliates bremst und die Motivation schmälert, mehr solcher nachfrageinitialisierender Displayleistungen zu erbringen.

Ein erster Ansatz, die „view to sale“-Effekte mit zu berücksichtigen, wurde 2007 durch KUPONA im deutschen Markt maßgeblich vorangetrieben. KUPONA setzt sog. Viewcookies ein, welche bereits bei Sichtkontakt mit einem Banner gesetzt wurden. Diese werden in den Cookieweichen der Advertiser mit einer geringeren Gewichtung eingestellt, sodass bei vorliegenden Klickcookies eben dieser nicht überschrieben werden kann. Dadurch wird eine Kanibalisierung von Klickcookies durch Viewcookies vermieden. Leistungsarten, welche einen Klick generieren, bekommen bei der Sales-Attribution den Vorzug.

postview

Seitdem haben Display Affiliates die Chance, auf CPO Basis rentabel zu arbeiten. Jedoch berücksichtigt dieses Modell nur solche Sales, auf deren Customer Journey kein Klick vorliegt. Sobald einer der Touchpoints ein Klick ist, verliert der Partner trotz mehrfacher Display Sichtkontakte im Vorfeld den Vergütungsanspruch.

FAZIT
Ein professionelles Customer Journey Tracking schafft die faire Lösung für eine verursachungsgerechte Vergütung anteiliger Mitwirkungsleistungen an einem Sale.

In diesem Fall würde ein Display Partner anteilig für seine Sichtkontakte vergütet, was zu einem über die Customer Journey hindurch ausgewogenen Partnerengagement führen würde. D.h. auch Push Instrumente, welche eine so wichtige Wachstumsfunktion für eCommerce Advertiser haben, würden CPO orientiert häufiger eingesetzt werden – mit einem echten win-win Situation für Advertiser und Partner. Der Partner partizipiert leistungsgerechter an den erzielten Sales - und der Advertiser kann mehr Absatz erzielen.

Hendrik Seifert
Managing Director
Hendrik Seifert
KUPONA GmbH
Frankfurter Straße 8
36043 Fulda

Fax 0661 / 480 275 – 69

0661/ 480 275 – 19